Book review: Plant Sensing and Communication

9780226264707

I purchased this book as a result of a recommendation by a member of the UKTC email exchange, under the promise that it was a very enlightening read.

I was not disappointed.

Whilst not necessarily the easiest read in the world (some parts I had to read three or four times before the information sank in), because the book is referenced heavily and really dives into highly specific territories, it is arranged in an easily accessible and reader-friendly manner – understanding the information isn’t necessarily difficult, even if you aren’t a plant biologist. I could also readily jump to sections that seemed interesting, and refer back to previous sections if I wanted to double-check on anything.

The book’s content, in terms of the information contained within, is so impressively sublime in expanse and eloquent in execution, that I found it hard not to simply shake my head in awe at some of the things I was reading. Being such a new field of science, there are so many new discoveries over the last decade, and certainly many more to come – I doubt we’re even at the tip of the icberg, yet.

I don’t wish to take away from any of the excitement you’ll get if you do read this, so I won’t mention anything in the way of facts from the book (over and above what I have already posted here, here, here, and here), though what I will say is that be prepared to have your view of plants from a ‘sentient’ perspective shattered. A very different intelligence from that of humans, but a highly sophisticated one nonetheless, and one that I really hope is explored with great intent.

It took me two and a half weeks to read this book in between work and doing other bits. At 240 pages (including the reference list), it is very word-heavy – there are some figures and plates, though they are used sparingly. Not that this matters to me, as the text is split up into so many sub-chapters that it can be easily navigated and digested in bite-size chunks.

You can view the contents page on the publisher’s website, and purchase the book here.

Book review: Plant Sensing and Communication

Leave a Reply

